\*Œdicnemus senegalensis Swains.

M'Carthy Island, February 2, 1899. Common.

\*Sarciophorus tectus (Bodd.).

M'Carthy Island, March 12, 1899. Very common at this season.

\*Lobivanellus senegalus (L.).

M'Carthy Island, November 13, 1898. Very common at this season.

GLAREOLA PRATINCOLA (L.).

Quinela, March 29, 1899.

\*Phalacrocorax lucidus (Licht.).

Juv. M'Carthy Island, March 5, 1899. Very common.

## XXXVI.—Proceedings at the Anniversary Meeting of the British Ornithologists' Union, 1901.

The Annual General Meeting of the British Ornithologists' Union was held in the rooms of the Zoological Society of London, 3 Hanover Square (by permission of the Council of that Society), on Wednesday, the 15th May, at 5.30 p.m., Dr. F. DuCane Godman, F.R.S., President, in the Chair.

The minutes of the last Annual Meeting having been read and confirmed, the Report of the Committee was read. It stated that since the last Anniversary the Union had suffered the loss, by death, of two Ordinary Members (Mr. Philip Crowley and Mr. C. W. Wyatt), of one Honorary Member (Dr. Gustav Hartlaub), and of one Foreign Member (Baron de Selys Longehamps).

The number of the Members of the Union was stated to be 370, consisting of 342 Ordinary, 2 Extraordinary, 9 Honorary, and 17 Foreign Members. There were 13 candidates for the Ordinary Membership, and one (who had been removed under the operation of Rule 6, but under circumstances which had now been satisfactorily explained) for Re-election.

The Committee was glad to report that the prosperity of the Union had continued unabated during the past year. The annual volume of 'The Ibis' for 1900, forming the sixth of the Seventh Series, had been issued in due course. It contained 728 pages and 14 plates.

The Report having been adopted, the accounts for the year, which had been audited by Mr. Howard Saunders, were presented by the Secretary, and approved by the Meeting.

Dr. F. DuCane Godman, F.R.S., was re-elected President, and Mr. Howard Saunders (in the place of Mr. E. W. Oates, who had retired) was elected Secretary, of the Union for the ensuing year. Mr. E. W. Oates was elected a Member of the Committee in the place of Dr. F. G. Penrose, who retired by rotation.

The following 13 Candidates were then balloted for and declared to be duly elected Ordinary Members of the British Ornithologists' Union :- James H. Allchin, 24 Bower Mount Road, Maidstone; Major Walter B. Arundel, High Ackworth, Pontefract; Herbert Ashby, Pinchurst, Basset, near Southampton; Lt -Col. A. C. Bailward, R.F.A., 1 Princes Mansions, Vietoria Street, S.W.; John C. Baker, M.B., B.A., The Mount, Witley, Surrey; Horace W. Finlinson, Goldington Avenue, Bedford; Herbert Goodchild, 119 Gloucester Road, Regent's Park, N.W.; Alwin C. Haagner, South African Constabulary, Modderfontein, S.A.; Collingwood Ingram, The Bungalow, Westgate-on-Sea; William K. Martin, B.A., Dartington, Totnes, South Devon; P. Chalmers Mitchell, M.A., 32 Devonshire Place, W.; John T. Proud, Dellwood, Bishop Auckland; David Seth Smith, Alleyne, Caterham, Surrey.

Mr. Arthur M. Laws, of Buluwayo, South Africa, was re-elected an Ordinary Member of the Union.

After a vote of thanks to the Council of the Zoological Society of London for the use of the Rooms, the Meeting adjourned.

The Annual Dinner, subsequently held at Limmer's Hotel, was attended by 29 Members, five of them being Original Members of the Union, viz. F. DuCane Godman, W. H. Hudleston, Alfred Newton, P. L. Sclater, and E. Cavendish Taylor.